Marriage, or something like it 

The hubster and I had date night for the first time in quite some time this past weekend. It started out sweeet enough. I got to get dolled up. I put on makeup, fixed my hair, the whole bit. We go to dinner. Shazam!! I notice the first “thing.” He isn’t wearing his wedding ring. But guess what, that’s ok by me! Here’s why: ever see those YouTube videos and pictures of men with their ring and their skin and muscle hanging off their finger cause their stupid ring snagged? Yeah, I like my husbands finger being attached to his body. Besides that, I know he is mine forever without a ring. I know because the way he looks at me. And the way he laughs at the booger hanging out of my nose. And the way he pushes all my buttons like it’s his job. And just when I’m seriously contemplating a good ole throat punch, he pulls me into a big ole bear hug and all my worries wash away. 

So, after dinner we literally sit in the truck and say “what now?” Uh……. “are we old and boring?” Yes. The answer is yes. And I’m am also ok with that. 5 years ago we would have went bar hopping and felt awful on Sunday. But ya know what we did instead? We came home and snuggled in bed and talked and watched movies. And because we are old and boring, our Sunday  was super super productive. 

Enter Sunday, the day my patience usually runs thin for some reason. Clayton and Austin made mushrooms that they found the other day. (Gross) so austin is trying to get me to try them. Claytons trying. Leah’s trying. Clayton literally tries shoving one down my throat. I’m so frustrated. But I can’t help but smile. Because I get to put up with this big bafoon for the rest of my life. Pushing me off the hammock. Picking on me. Trying to push me out of my comfort zone by trying new things. And teaching me patience. 

Let me tell you about how he teaches me patience. Sunday I’m vacuuming my car. Extension cords ran from the shop to the shop vac at my car. The shop vac keeps kicking off. Im getting hot pissed. I said “Austin I know he’s in the shop fucking with me” he says “oh no. He’s going pee.” LIES!!! Long story short I keep going to the shop to check the plug. Clayton is behind my car unplugging the shop vac from the cord. Over. And over.  I haven’t laughed that hard in ages. But then, another bear hug. And all was right in the world. 

So basically what I’m saying is this. Men are a handful. They will always be your biggest child. And they will ALWAYS push your buttons. No lie. Always. But, they will always be there for you. They are always your biggest supporter. They will always be able to make you laugh. No lie. Always. Their hugs can solve the worlds problems. And just maybe, if your lucky like I am, they will always be your best friend. No lie. Always. 

One thought on “Marriage, or something like it 

  1. I’m sitting here literally laughing my butt off… because even though I’m his momma, I know I did something right… my kids will always be perfect in my eyes… and I’m glad I raised a man someone appreciates as much as I do her… Love you honey… this cracks me up every day because I can see it happening…

    Like

Comments are closed.